Iced-over canal

I went for a quick walk on my lunch break today just to get outside before it got too cold. The canal downtown is coated in ice. I don't think I've ever seen it like this.

The air was smoky, I imagine from people using their fireplaces. It irritated my throat. I thought maybe I was showing a symptom of COVID because it lasted for a long time, but I didn't have a fever or anything else. I thought if I caught it, it would have been two days ago when I stepped inside the coffee shop to get Jill a drink. I always wear my KN-95 masks, but not everything is perfect.

False alarm. Apparently it was just the smoke or paranoia. Which is great because it means we can still go shopping on Saturday before the big winter storm. I seriously need good shoes. I slipped again, though this time it was almost bad enough to make me fall in mud. But I kept my balance! Phew. Every single day I've gone on a walk since it snowed, I have slipped. It's only a matter of time before I fall. New boots/shoes will help greatly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.