Desperately seeking

By clickychick

The Winter Of 2014/15

It was dull and overcast today, so unlike 2015 when the sun shone as I held my mother's hand, singing her favourite Christian songs, as she died.

This was the bottle of perfume I had bought for her 87th birthday a month earlier, her favourite.

So many of my blipmates lost parents that winter. One lost both and has since joined them.

It all seems so long ago, just 7 years, but so much has happened since. These last 2 years would have been terrible for her to have endured. She had been in hospital for 3 months, I would have been devastated by the inability to visit. I was all she had, all she cared about. It broke my heart to see the tv reports of people looking through windows at their loved ones during the lockdown periods.

Time moves on and time heals. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.