esiuol

By esiuol

Arria

My first blip was on 16January2021 and so today is my 365th consecutive day. 
We decided to go and visit another one of Andy Scott’s sculptures, Arria. I have seen her many times from the car while driving on the M80 but it was nice to see her up close this time. Standing 10 metres tall, she was erected on 24th August 2010 and is named after Arria Fadilla, the mother of Antoninus Pius the Roman Emperor who ordered the construction of the nearby Antonine Wall. The weather was pretty dreich with solid grey clouds above and a bit of drizzle so best viewed large. I had hoped for a flock of birds to fly past so that I could do my sneezing joke again http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2907331165461417139
but alas there were none to be seen! What did appear however was a lovely little roe deer who stood patiently with a furrowed brow waiting for me to take his photo in extra.
I was introduced to Blipfoto by Val, (aka Photogen), who as tutor to a zoom photography group, taken by myself and I think 17 others, during lockdown at the start of last year, suggested we join blip. Val is no longer with us having sadly passed away not long after the course finished but I think there are still around 6 of us active on the site in 2022 thanks to her encouragement.
I really enjoy the process of taking and posting a photo each day and have enjoyed seeing where other blippers live, the places they visit, the sights they see, their animals and pets, what wonderful creations they make and even what they eat! Long may it last, onwards and upwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.