Pictastic

By Pictastic

Grandma’s glass animals

When I was a little girl I always enjoyed looking at (and playing carefully with) my maternal grandmother’s collection of glass animals when we visited her house in Aberdeen.

After her death many years ago, the glass animals came to be mine. We had a cabinet for them in the old house but it didn’t move with us so I’ve had to find another solution. I bought this shadow box and today made some balsa wood shelves to go inside. Not all the animals can fit inside but most of them are here and at least they feel quite safe in there. (Although there was a crash at one point tonight and sadly the green dog with puppies had an unfortunate breakage of its legs!!)

It’s now on the wall in the office and I’m treating myself to a Bacardi and Coke in celebration of another item ticked off my (massive) ‘to do’ list!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.