pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Alcock Tarn

It is not without a sense trepidation that I approach meeting with Simmo with no fresh-baked cookies in the rucksack.

Add to this the total absence of any hot chocolate and you can start to understand why I was braced for a verbal tirade and perhaps even some physical violence. I was surprised and not a little relieved when having declared that neither sweet treat would be accompanying us today, she replied with a simple “good”.

We had a lovely walk from Grasmere up to Alcock Tarn (easily one of my favourite points in The Lakes), chatting all the way and soaking up the stunning scenery. Whilst taking the main shot today, the extra shows what she was more focussed on when put in charge of my phone.  The walk didn’t take too long and we were soon back down into the village for some brunch, I was delighted to finish her pancakes after having devoured my fry-up.

With it being my birthday soon, I decided to treat myself to some new more comfortable walking boots. Despite my reservations that I had bought some “old man” boots, I didn’t really care as they are so very very comfortable – I wore them in as I did some jobs around the house this afternoon.

Popping into K-town later in the day, I picked up a white shirt for the forthcoming wedding in a couple of weeks and also tinkered with the best man speech which I had written a year ago. I think it is almost there now.

It has been a very lovely and productive day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.