Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Notre Dame Cathedral of Lausanne

After lunch, I went downtown to walk through the old part of town on the cobbled streets. I wish I'd taken my big camera because the lighting was perfect to take photos of the stained glass windows inside the cathedral.   I'll have to return to do that. In the meantime, I took some shots of the Gothic style architecture. This was taken at one end of the nef, showing the ceiling and the big organ.

The first extra is the bell tower of the cathedral taken against our beautiful blue sky today. The air is crisp, but not too cold and the lighting is perfect.
Second extra: three statues in mono. I could have entered them for Mono Monday, but I like the other photos better! On top of that, they all look rather glum.

The Lausanne Cathdral was built at the same time as Notre Dame in Paris. They are both in a similar Gothic style and were built during the 12th and 13th centuries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.