Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Veteran oak

Another frosty start but, unlike yesterday, it was accompanied by a blanket of thick grey cloud so no sparkly ice to photograph. Although I've given up my woodland butterfly transect (I've still got the heathland one) I'm still drawn to the woods. At this time of year the footpaths are so muddy they are almost unusable partly because much of the site is an old clay pit but also because its much used by horse riders. When the ground is frozen its just about navigable so we headed there first thing to walk the old butterfly transect route. The spaniel seems to know the way at least as well as I do, as he has walked it hundreds of times. If I veer off the route to investigate something he will often stay put looking perplexed. There are more than 40 veteran trees here, this oak being one of the oldest at well over 400 years. In summertime much of it is hidden by the bracken that surrounds it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.