Solutions

Xmas is getting ready to perform his first routine. He can do most, but one section is still causing problems. Not when I separate it from the rest of the routine - then it works perfectly, but when I try to do the full routine, this sections always become a mess.

Today I realised that he does it well, when I have food in my hand, but it gets messy, when I don't have food. So it was not that it became difficult, when he had to do the full routine - but it was about food/treats.

I was surprised about this. I do understand that a lot of dogs work better when the handler have food in the hand, but Xmas can do the rest of the routine really well without food - so why not these 3 moves?

I think I solved the puzzle! I realised that when I have food in my hand, I point one finger forward and have the rest of the hand closed to hold the food. When I don't have food in my hand, my hand is open.... So my signal/body cue is different. 

So I tried to do it with a pointy finger, but no food. He performed it perfectly! Then I tried with food, but a flat/open hand. He got confused. 
Ahhh... so new plan. Now I need to teach him a new body/hand cue for these 3 moves as I will have an open hand eventually, when we are ready to perform for real. 

Such a small thing, but so important to the dog...

My shoulder is better, but not great. I have another appointment on Monday though - as we knew it would not be sorted after just one appointment.  

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.