January 19, 1809

Edgar Allan Poe was born 223 years ago on this day in Boston.  I was fascinated by his writing after I first read The Raven in Junior High School back in 1962.  I created this collage recently.  I've included 10 visual references to his poetry and/or short stories.  Any Poe aficionados out there who would like to guess which ones?  (I've thrown in a few "red herrings!) I spend 4-5 hours each day in the studio now that there is heat.  I've done several of these "Mind Full" pieces.  It is such fun playing with images again.  Poe died in Baltimore, Maryland on October 3, 1849 under very mysterious circumstances.   There is a lovely life size sculpture of him in Boston near the public gardens.  I've added two photos I took when I visited in 2018.  Happy Birthday, Edgar!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.