Another old watercolour print.

This photo is Higher Cloughfold, Rossendale, Lancashire.
My mum’s sister-in-law, who was from West Cumbria, had a sister who lived in the last cottage in the row, on the left with her husband.
I remember visiting them when I was young. I loved the Cumberland accents. Lilting and sounding a bit Scottish.
My uncle Ernie, mum’s brother, married a lass from West Cumbria , called Lily, (who became her sister-in-law) and they went to live up in Workington after WW2. He met her when she was in service, at a big house in Rawtenstall in the 1930’s.
We’ve had many happy times with them when we went to stay. And visits to all the Lakes. Their nearest one being Ennerdale Lake.
Funny how a group of old watercolour prints can generate such a lot of memories.
I recently posted the 5 old watercolours on a Social media site called the History of Rossendale group. It is a closed group which has an administrator. You apply to join.
The response was incredible!
So many comments and anecdotes related by people who still live there or used to live there, like Stephen and I.
We were both born and bred in Rossendale, and eventually went to the same Grammar School.
These anecdotes were full of nostalgia and affection for the Valley.
I said I would post them free of charge to anyone who would like one.
The first one will go today, to Newark near Nottingham.
The person who contacted me had remembered me from Grammar School and we had a great catch up on-line last night, via Messenger.
As she said herself, “Once a Lancashire lass, always a Lancashire lass”. I wholeheartedly agreed.
At lunchtime I watched Prime Minister’s Question Time on BBC News.
It was noisy rumbunctious affair and the Speaker had a job to control the MP’s. There was a blistering speech by David Davis, an eminent Conservative MP who called on BoJo to resign forthwith.
A Conservative MP, for Bury South, has also left the Conservative Party and crossed over to the Labour Party.
What happens next, we still don’t know……….
But I agree with David Davis….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.