Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Still going!

Today I finally got around to putting the boxes containing 'Christmas' back into the cupboard under the stairs. My girls think it hilarious that I have a Christmas cupboard.
Is not quite Candlemas yet, but the Nativity scene is securely packed in its bubble wrap for another year.
One of the things I love about Christmas though is the sweeties, not necessarily the eating thereof - although I do admit to enjoying that - it's simply that they are there, honest! I have several silver dishes which I fill with brightly coloured wrapped sweets. Quality Street in particular look beautiful in their jewel coloured wrappers and we still have two dishes on display.

I took a couple of bags of bits and pieces to the charity shops today and managed to come back with only one item, that feels like a positive result!

For dinner tonight, I made cauliflower cheese , it's one of my favourite dishes. I followed that with a baked apple stuffed with demerara and butter. I put it in the oven on a small slice of baguette, that way the bread catches all the caramelised contents of the apple and crisps up. Proper comfort food and I can pretend it is healthy because its an apple. :-)

I find I look for comfort food just now, I'm finding the news quite down beat at the moment
I'm glad it doesn't actually affect me, but there must be those who are very worried and despondent. Aside from the Pandemic and rising inflation, the embarrassing train crash which is our Westminster government absolutely beggars belief.

Keep safe and well everyone, I don't think my masks will be disappearing any time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.