Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Two For The Price Of One

What a beautiful day it was today. I WISH I’d gone on a walk early because everything was covered with a thick frost this morning. But I was tired and lazy this morning. I made up for it later however, and met a friend for a walk early this afternoon. She’s working from home so we walked during her lunch break. This is ‘her’ lake near her house. Not far from me, but not ‘my’ lake where I walk more often.

The lake was still partially frozen and in the distance we could see ducks standing on the ice. My friend doesn’t like her picture taken but she was happy with a picture of our shadows. Part of our walk was through a small copse of trees.

I said goodbye to my friend when she had to get back to work. It was such a beautiful afternoon, I couldn’t bear to go inside myself, so I stopped for another walk on my way home, walking through familiar fields. I found a new log to sit on so I sat and watched the sun start to dip behind the row of trees on the horizon. I’ll have to come back with a flask of coffee next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.