Finished

I finished yesterday’s painting. I really like this one. It’s not my assignment but it does have a bit of a Mondrian influence perhaps.

Today as I went to the vets to pick up some food and meds, I waited outside because there were several people inside. I had on my mask. There was a young fellow outside with his mask pulled down who complained about waiting outside. I said it was better than getting COVID. And that set him off. I asked if he was vaccinated and he asked me if I was an expert. He said I was duped. It was all planned. COVID was man made. He said I looked like I fully bought Western medicine. I wouldn’t buy the food if I knew better. And our state was taking over. Just today they were after our guns. I said, “I’m just a little old lady and there is clearly no way we would ever agree so let’s agree to disagree.” (Just so you know, that’s not my opinion of myself at all but I figured it was most likely his.) He kept mentioning “they” were doing this, And I asked several times, who were “they?” We got nowhere and he kept yelling at me about how I should read the ingredients of the food I was buying. I was very happy when the gal came out with my food and meds. She walked me to the car and apologized for the guy. I admit that he was on my mind for some time after. I told Shelly about it and he said the guy is insane. Thinking back on this I realized that it was not enjoyable to be considered stupid and duped. I mean I already knew that but now I could feel it first hand. And it reinforced my sense that people who share the opinions I hold sometimes refer to those who don’t as “stupid,” “duped,” and many other words that I would hate if they were aimed at me. So I try to understand and not to name call myself. As for the guy, I do not agree with his opinions. In fact I think they are quite bizarre. But I do get that he and I mostly do not share the same universe. My friends and his would be very different I expect. My information sources would also be very different. Naturally I think mine are better and more accurate, but then so does he. What a sad state of our country and the world that we’ve gotten so far apart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.