Brambling or Chaffinch?

It’s another birding day, but this time further along the coast in The Spinnies. Of course, the object of the visit is to see a kingfisher, but yet again I’m out of luck. Still, as always, there are many consolations. Apparently, there’s a pair of water rail around, but they too remain elusive. Still, there’s plenty of activity around the feeders, and the landscape of the reserve itself is beautiful in the changing light of the afternoon. 

The light is fading, but shafts of sunlight filter through, spotlighting solo avians perching in the branches, and I focus on one pale coloured little bird, beautifully lit against the darkness. I don’t recognise it, though wonder whether it might be a female chaffinch. Back home, I look more closely, and think it may be a female brambling - a bird I’ve never seen before - but there again, is that a chaffinch beak? Either way, I can’t resist her cuteness, and  I know my fellow blippers will help me out with an identification! (Definitely best viewed large!) 

It’s another late blip - more ‘entertaining’ visitors ……. eventually I’ll get back into some sort of routine. Meanwhile, thank you so much for the wonderful response to my Mor Elias set yesterday. Your comments, stars and hearts are very much appreciated! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.