You’re More Than a Number in My Little Red Book

Can’t really believe this is blip number 600 - it doesn’t seem that long ago I was doing number 300. Those with long memories will remember that I also used the microwave to display that number. And those with long memories and great eyesight may even recall how dim that “300” was. It actually continued to get dimmer after that, to the extent that it was sometimes necessary to turn the kitchen lights off when setting the microwave, just so you could see how long you were putting it on for. I needed to buy a new plate for it anyway, and spotted an item on the spares website that claimed to fix dim displays.
It wasn’t that expensive so I ordered one and subsequently received a little board with three LEDs and a plug, as shown at the bottom of the photo. And once I’d worked out the correct order in which to remove all the panels from the microwave, replacement of the offending item was simplicity itself - truly “plug and play”!
Reassembled everything, turned the power back on and was greeted with a display so bright I had to put on a pair of shades! I’ll call that a win.
First full day of looking after mum following her operation and it hasn’t exactly gone according to plan. I had to sleep on the settee last night and there have been several arguments throughout the day as she absolutely refuses to rest. Fortunately, I spent an hour this afternoon with an old friend who works in the adult care sector. She was able to not only give me a few pointers regarding what extra help may be available for mum, but also reassured me that, as far as she could see, things didn’t look too bad and I really need only concentrate on getting through the next few days rather than trying to plan long term at this stage. Wise advice, and I will follow up a lead tomorrow with a view to arranging someone to call in on a regular basis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.