Household Name

This should have been yesterdays blip, until I noticed I had hit the milestone of 600 blips and needed to change at the last minute. However, I don’t want to waste a photo, so here it is!
My mum has lived in the same village for 44 years, the last two with my sister, who lived just around the corner from the parental home. It was only when advising various people of mum’s change of address that I started to doubt the spelling of the name of my sisters house - “Feilden Cottage”. I assumed there had been some sort of typo when the title was registered and it should actually have been spent “Fielden” (as in something to do with a field). Seems I wasn’t alone in thinking this, judging by the amount of incorrectly spelt correspondence that still arrives at the address. Fortunately, the postman is on the case and knows where to deliver everything!
I was aware that there had been a Mollington Hall and that it had been surrounded by a substantial wall - indeed, the parental home had part of that wall as a boundary. But I had known nothing more until I spotted this sign whilst out walking yesterday. And suddenly it all made sense. My sisters cottage - and a nearby road, I subsequently discovered - had not been (mis)named after an area of pasture, but were named to commemorate the family of cotton merchants who lived in the hall for over a hundred years during the Georgian and Victorian eras. Mystery solved, and I continued my walk with an extra spring on my step!
2 steps forward, 1 step back today as regards organising care for mum. The district nurse came round, but only to tell us they couldn’t actually do anything to help as the times we needed them were not convenient! They did say that there were various agencies we could approach and would contact me with details tomorrow. In other words, if you want help you’ll have to pay for it. Well, so be it. More hopeful is that I have arranged a meeting with a possible carer for tomorrow afternoon. It looks as if it could be a positive step forward so fingers crossed that agreement can be reached by all concerned

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.