Question

One sign that raises so many questions. Are the animals and the children both slow? Can you still say “slow” anyway, or should it be “educationally challenged”? How do you ascertain if an animal is educationally challenged? Or are they just slow at moving? What makes a child free range? And why are they all crossing? What is on the other side of the road?
I can only answer the last question. And that answer is “nothing”. Which brings us back to why are they crossing in the first place? This sign was spotted about a kilometre into my run around the village yesterday, and my pondering of possible answers to the above questions, kept my mind occupied for the remaining 4K of my run. A reasonable time, and no major aches and pains today, which is a good sign. But as I have a long term aim this year of running a half marathon, I need to start on some longer distances when the weather gets warmer.
Major step forward today with care for mum and sister. There is a lady who has done a bit of cleaning for them for many years, who is also a qualified carer. She is fully aware of the situation and has said she is prepared to change her role and to take on care duties for my sister - who really likes her - which will, by implication, also help care for mum. Given that the pair of them are quite capable of looking after themselves for 80% of the time, it’s going to be a little bit of trial and error at first until we establish what level of intervention is required to achieve a good balance between independence and care but hopefully this will lay the foundation for a secure future for both of them in their own home. Obviously my other sister and myself are available if required to help out, but I think it’s better if we can be considered “helpers of last resort” as I live a hundred miles away and my other sister has a family of her own that she wants to spend time with now she’s retired.
All in all, feeling a lot more positive tonight than I was when mum first came home from hospital on Wednesday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.