A day in the life

By Shelling

Semla galore

Tuesday March 1st, swedes celebrate "Fettisdagen" (Fat tuesday). On that  day it's compulsory allowed to fatten yourself before the forty days that leads up to easter. The tradition stems from an old Christian feast called "Fastlag" which has to do with fasting before easter. The bun are called different things depending on which region you're in, here it's called "Semla", from the german semel or the latin word simila, meaning wheat flour. The Semla is baked only once a year for Fettisdagen and traditionalists eat one semla on the actual day the 1 of march. But it has been seen as early as between Christmas and new years eve. I saw it in town today and had my first semla with a cup of good coffee. There is a big competition between the different bakeries who makes the best one, these are from my favourite bakery.

I was in town to do couple of errands, like fetching a carpet that I had drycleaned, but mainly to see someone at my bank to help me have a look at my economy because my expenses has increased quite a bit since I moved and I wanted to know if I had any reason to worry about it. My pension isn't that high, so I need to be a bit careful about how I use it. She helped by making a few suggestions and I left feeling a bit calmer. We'll check in again in a couple of years.
I also went to the health center to have some tests made because I have had an inflammation in one of my fingers that could have to do with my psoriasis. If it develops further it could mean that I will have to stop playing my guitar, at least in public, which would be very sad for me. Answers on my blood tests arrive next week. I hope for the best.
There's not too much left in the old house now, I'm beginning to see an end to all this. Hopefully I've cleaned it and handed over the keys in the beginning of next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.