The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

'Out the back'

Sorry I chopped the leaves off on the left! It's a cyclamen on our back step.

Today was absolutely gorgeous. I wanted to try and stay up out of bed all day, but it wasn't to be. I did manage from 7.15 till about noon, and then again from 1 to 4 pm. Mainly I was doing a jigsaw in the sunshine in the dining room, with Indie sunbathing on the red sofa. Listened to some podcasts on BBC sounds. In my enfeebled state I prefer true crime podcasts. Drama is too emotional and complex for me.

Other than puzzles and podcasts, what did I do? I missed my 4pm Zoom but caught up with it later. It was a surprisingly interesting slide show about the wildlife of the Falkland Islands. I wish I had the money for that sort of thing. Not necessarily to visit the Falklands, but a wildlife safari sort of thing. Also attended a somewhat dull lecture on Zoom by the WEA, about the role of the trusted sidekick in literature. I've signed up for as many events as I can on Mirthy.co.uk for the next month, because there's only one monthly fee and the events are watchable afterwards, so it doesn't matter if I'm not there for the 'live'.

I'm looking forward to tomorrow already, in case I feel better. Today was definitely an improvement on yesterday, but I still have horrible evening/night sweats and a host of other symptoms that come and go. I'm grateful to friend A, who shopped for me, then went back into Tesco's because she'd missed the message about cat treats! She left it all on my doorstep. Others on the WhatsApp group have offered support, which made me quite tearful. Normality may return relatively soon, I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.