Beamed

After many bleak days of rain and clotted skies, gray on grayer, the sun came out for a couple of hours and lit up wet sidewalks and made halos around the people. 

I met Margie for lunch (ordered indoors with masks on, eaten outdoors, the way we do now) for as long as we could stand the cold wind. She complained about the noise her walker makes, so I suggested one with larger, softer wheels. She shut me up: “I’d rather just grumble about this one. It’s good to have something to grumble about that’s really unimportant.”

If you’d like to be dazzled and amazed by something you've never seen before, have a look at this Maori man named Rodney Bell. He uses a wheelchair and makes dance with it.

I made a portrait of Margie as usual, but what lingers in my eye is being blinded by the light in a wet world where all the people wear halos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.