Living my dream

By Mima

Exhausted again…

It has been a glorious day. After an early harvest to fill a couple of boxes of garden goodies for friends, Bean and I hit the road for Moeraki.

Two walks later we reached her Dads - and first owners - who fed me a scone, Bean milk and dog biscuits, and recounted sad events which have put their plans to emigrate to Mexico on possibly permanent hold. While I think they are bonkers wanting to move there (not only the decision, but the reasoning behind it) I fully respect their right to be bonkers, so I am very sad for them and did a great deal of empathising. But I could have done with rather more for lunch than one small scone…

Three hours later I realised I was an hour late leaving for my next stop: a visit to see my one and only FFL (friend for life) who is staying at his crib for a couple of weeks, with his family and dogs. So off we dashed, arriving starving (me) and waggy (guess who).

The FFL took one look at me and went straight to the kitchen to rustle up two enormous sandwiches, which I wolfed down without speaking until at least half of the plateful was consumed. Much to his amusement. A peach, an orange and three glasses of water finished the very late lunch. Then it was time for walking with the dogs in the gorgeous oceanside sunshine.

We talked and talked. I handed over the boxes of fruit and veg. In return FFL filled my little esky / chilly bin with filleted blue cod, all caught this morning. This is one of the very best of my regular barters. I never have to think about buying fish. I have no idea how much it costs in the shops. Lucky lucky me.

Bean is now passed out on the sofa and I’m about to join her.

An excellent day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.