curns' corner

By curns

Day one

Pinch, punch or whatever you are supposed to say at the beginning of the month. 

I continued my morning walk ritual but I was too excited by the sea view to even think about putting on music or an audiobook. It was lovely to be walking by the water. There were very few people around which surprised me. I know this is off-season but I didn’t even see anybody walking a dog.  It’s still a somewhat alarming uphill walk on the way back.

I am pleased to report that I survived the first day of working from the Airbnb.  There’s not enough space for me and PY to have separate spaces that don’t intrude into other rooms.  There are two bedrooms but the second one is too small to have a desk so we’re working from the main bedroom and the living room.  Because I have a laptop, and so I can pack up at the end of the day, I am in the living room using the small dining table.  And this means I get the big windows and the amazing view of the sea. I have caught myself staring at the water several times today and it has really changed my working mood: it’s so relaxing. I can already say that I want to do this more and more.

In the evening we did even more shopping. It’s surprising how much I take for granted all the things that are in cupboards at home: everything needs to be bought here. We didn’t buy a lot; just a few things to go with the fish for dinner. I was worried about the smell of fish in such a small apartment but it didn’t seem to linger which either suggests great ventilation or draughts. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.