curns' corner

By curns

Day 34

If I said it in the right accent, it would feel like the start of one of the original Big Brother episodes: Day 34 and ...

Today is 34 days of out lockdown: I’ve been working at home for just over a month. In many ways it has gone surpassingly well although having the fridge available to me as I am making a cup of coffee or tea is proving to be too tempting. PY is also now working from home; although it took his company a little bit longer to figure out how to make that work for them. It seems to be going OK for them too.

We have been very lucky with the weather while we’ve been at home and in this lockdown which has allowed us to use the outside space as an extra room which makes up for not being able to go out very much. We have managed to reconfigure the house so that we both have our own ‘offices’ and there is no need for either of us to disturb the other while working. This is a better situation than some of my colleagues who have family around them. It must be very hard for those who are home-schooling at this time. 

So, although there is no work today, the days may all be starting to merge together given we really are not going out very much. I went shopping yesterday and today we say out here. I’ve also started doing couch to 5k in the evenings as my permitted exercise. The rules seem to suggest that PY and I can go out together so we have been running around the block. We tend to go in an evening when there are even fewer people outside and with the warm spring evenings at’s been quite nice. I wonder if I will finish the nine weeks before we’re back at work?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.