The other end of another day

After yesterday's Saturday sunrise, here is a sunset. Taken on a late in the day run at Snells; we came north today, having spent yesterday in the city trying to sort out some things. Things which have needed sorting for some time.

Like, what to do with all the journals I have accumulated in so many years of subscribing. Being a hoarder, person who doesn't like to waste what might be useful, collector (I once collected stamps, and many years later I still have the stamp albums), I still have had (in a number of places, now) every journal. My
subscriptions now give me electronic access to all those and more! But what if the electronic system goes down? Paper will survive. But those of us underneath the weight of it may not!

Anyway, few of the papers I read 30 years ago are known now, let alone cited. Is that important? In some instances yes, and I have copies, or can make copies (electronically), if anyone wants to listen. So I bravely threw the first lot into the paper recycling bin. It was liberating. Will I continue? YES.

This picture of the sunset was taken on a street corner on the main road through
Snells Beach town. I reduced the shadow so that the name of the street can (just about) be seen. Iris Street has no great claim to fame, as it goes away from the sea side of the town. Looking at it large helps.

I then had to do some more adjustments to the exposure and to the brightness to restore the correct colour balance. Apart from being able to see the foreground, there is not much difference between this image and the original from the camera.

I would like to acknowledge Pauline, whose journal (Snips and Snaps) is always worth a look; she has posted photos which use a signpost to great effect. I have tried to emulate that effect here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.