Crab for tea

A slow start to the day, followed by various admin activities. Not exciting, but feels good to have them sorted. Mid afternoon was a bit after mid tide (incoming tide). Took the Pentax with long lens and ran down to Algies, down to the beach, and around the points at either end of our beach to reach the rocks at the southern end of Snells. On the rocks was a collection of birds.

In the one place were white fronted terns, and South Island Pied Oystercatcher. There was also one other bird which I couldn't quite recognise. Diligent work by S, and comparison of my photos to the drawings in The Hand Guide to the Birds of New Zealand, and we have decided it was young Caspian Tern. All the birds took flight before I got close enough to get a really good picture of the Caspian Tern.

They landed on another clump of rock, surrounded by water at this stage of the incoming tide.Waiting there for them was a Little Shag, and a solitary Pied Stilt. Back in the shallows was a white faced heron. I was able to get a series of pictures (the SD card is almost full), and have taken the advice of S to put up this one.

Shortly after I took this photo, the heron moved swiftly through the water and suddenly darted its head down. I then saw it move to get the caught crab so it could swallow it. I have put that in the folio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.