Sunrise at Algies Bay

The end of daylight saving means that at my usual time for a morning run I am out as the sun is rising; last week, I would be back home before sunrise after having run in the dark.

We had stayed at the beach house overnight, as we didn't need to be in the city until just before midday. I chose a run out along the central road (a short way) towards the end of the peninsula. On the way back the predawn sky became increasingly bright and dramatic, encouraging stops and shots.

I went down to the foreshore at Algies hoping to see something like this; the boats at their moorings, the dark mass of Kawau Island across the bay, the light on the water, and the newly risen sun de-dazzled by positioning myself behind a bottlebrush shrub.

This is worth seeing large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.