Win, win, win

I had the pleasure today of being the third person to visit Tivoli's new flat, after her body-double who set everything up and Tivoli herself. I'll leave her to say more once her wifi is connected later in the week.

When I arrived she was unpacking and my eyes stopped on an elegant green hard hat in the middle of the floor. She didn't have anywhere to store it nor, it turned out, any immediate use for it. Even better than that, when I told her that I've been looking for a hard hat for months so that I'll be able to visit my own house once it becomes building site, and that if I could borrow it then all I was missing was a pair of steel-toe-cap boots, she produced a pair of steel-toe-cap boots in her (and my) size from a nearby plastic bag on the floor.

I very happily exchanged the celebratory bottles I'd brought in my backpack for construction-site PPE. 

We had a wander round Henley, met some lovely welcoming people, did a bit more unpacking and drank more than I'd intended of the celebratory bottles before I headed back to Oxford. It's going to be a treat having her live two buses away.

And PPE! Even my civil engineering son hadn't been able to source any for that for me. (Or rather, he'd found some boots four sizes too big and warned me that if I turned up on any of his sites in such ill-fitting PPE he'd ban me.) 

Thanks sis!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.