No longer black

Did it again!
(pushed enter rather than tab)

Never mind. I'll add a quick note about the rather rusty Waratah post I saw beside the road through the bush. I decided to run as much as I could of the same course as I walked yesterday, only going on from the end of the water pipe part of the run and follow the track. Narrow winding and steeply climbing, it came out onto the road through the bush along which i used to run with clubmates 30 years ago.

Iron fence posts, painted black were called waratahs. They originated in Australia, but were commonly used in New Zealand as well. This one is clearly well past its use by date, and I did not see any others, nor any sign of the fence it presumably helped hold up.

New Zealand has gone to Red for the whole country due to a significant (although still small as yet) outbreak of omicron variant infections, without a clear direct link to the border. Frustrating that this comes as I am about to head in to the unit for the last two weeks of my contract with the inpatient services. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.