Down Day

A day when the energy levels plummeted and I found it impossible to concentrate. I may have overdone things this last week. Time passes so quickly when I'm in the flow that it's easy to forget how long I've spent there in that zone these last few days. The hours of dithering and procrastination in between are remembered perfectly well.

Another note, for the record, about my writing process. I'm sketching out this series of scenes where all my cast of characters end up meeting at an event. A lot of jeopardy has been created and I had no idea at the start of the week how things were going to be resolve between everyone. I can't plan that in advance. My mind doesn't work in that way. I have to write dialogue and let things unfold, find out where they take each other through what they say. I just jot down in my notebook whatever comes into my head. It's then a matter of assessing whether it feels right and going in an interesting direction. Is the scene congruent with the overall arc of the novel? If not, then I start again and see if I can move the dialogue in a different direction. Although I got very little done today, I did flick through the notebook and was pleased to find how much I'd written and also what I'd written. I had no memory of a lot of it. That's possibly a good sign, a sign that I was so in the flow that I was barely conscious of what I was writing! 

I suspect that one of the reasons why I felt so tired today was because my head is so unconsciously busy at this stage of the writing process. It's by far the most exhausting one. I'm sure a lot is going on in there while I'm asleep too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.