Harbour Seal

I knew there were seals (or a seal) in the harbour but I've never seen one, so you can imagine my delight when this one popped his head out and looked at us! We saw him later, too, with a huge flounder in his mouth but too distant to photograph and with his back to us most of the time. I was thrilled just to get this (heavily cropped) image :)

I was on a birding boat trip around Poole Harbour - a first for me. The sea was calm, the light dull, because of the thick blanket of cloud, and the temperature about 5°. Oh - and the birds were mostly distant. I still loved it, even though most of my photos are unfit for sharing. We saw spoonbills, teal, guillemots, shelduck, godwits, avocets, oystercatchers, marsh harrier, red breasted merganser, common scoter and more!

Those leading the 'winter safari' were great - very knowledgable and eagle-eyed to spot all the different species.

The Coffee Cup in my b&w journal

Thanks very much for your kindness for yesterday's very mediocre blip!

Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.