Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

The sky was cloudless and the sun, very warm and bright.  It was about the same temperature as the last ride, but it felt much warmer.  I didn't need a face covering or gloves and, although I had my shoe covers this time, I didn't need to use them.  The only thing I wished was different was there was still a lot of ice on the roads and trails.  Fortunately, I was mostly able to avoid it and if I couldn't, I stopped and dismounted and walked carefully pushing the bike past it.  That happened about 4 times in 26 miles, so not too bad.  Lots of photo ops, so two collages today. :-)

Main Collage

Top Row:         Mrs. Hooded Merganser
                          Wild turkeys - There were about ten.  These two appeared to be fighting. 
                          American Kestrel

Middle:            Enjoying the view - Mt. Evans and Longs Peak
                         Mrs. Green-winged Teal
                         No Fishing! - The lake appears to be frozen but the ice isn't thick enough to support people and gear.

Bottom:          The ubiquitous Red-tailed Hawk
                         Canada Geese - They were very feisty in the water.  I caught this one doing a handstand (wingstand?).
                         Mr. Hooded Merganser


Extra collage

Top Row:       Modern motorized unicycle - Looks dangerous but he was well protected.
                        Another view of the mountains.  
                        Left Hand Brewery

Middle:           Signs seen along the way and 3D art on the side of a building in a park.  The windmill spins in the wind but it was very still today.

Bottom:         Left Hand Brewery sign and limo
                       Man using a pitchfork to break up the ice in the street in front of his house.
                       Another cyclist - He should be wearing a helmet!!

I am grateful that I've been able to ride twice in the last 7 days.  Not bad for mid January! :-)
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.