MONO MONDAY - STILL LIFE

I did look at the theme for today’s Mono Monday last night, which is “Still Life” and as I was arranging one or two of my shells, Mr. HCB said, “I feel a Blip coming on.”  He knows me so well!

Of course, I didn’t take the photograph last night but have used three shells from my collection this morning. I have no idea what these are but I just think they’re pretty and have been picked up over the years from various beaches as we wandered long.  The background is actually a beautiful silk scarf given to me by Blip Friend some years ago but of course, a mono shot doesn’t show off the beautiful colours in the scarf which include blues, greens,  mauves and purples - in fact, all my favourite colours.

I did decide to look up what “Still Life” actually meant and this is what Google says:

“The term “Still Life” was officially used to name a genre around the late 1500s into the 1600s (16th and 17th Century) in the Netherlands. It is translated from the Dutch word ‘stilleven’. In French, the term for Still Life is ‘nature morte’, which means ‘dead nature’.”

It’s a very grey day today, but that hasn’t stopped Mr HCB from pottering in the garden and as I looked out of the bedroom window I could see him hoeing the bed where the pigeons have trampled down the soil, looking for any little bits that the smaller birds have dropped from the bird feeders above.  It’s also very cold so I don’t suppose he will be out there for too long.

Hope you all have a good week but don’t be deceived - Covid is still out there, so take care.

“Photography takes an instant 
     out of time, 
          altering life 
               by holding it still.” 
Dorothea Lange

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.