TINY TUESDAY

Once again, I haven’t bothered to look at the theme - but just wanted to go out and wander around the frosted garden to see if I could find something that “took my eye”!  

It was pretty chilly, but then I did only have my pink robe on, so hardly surprising!  By the time I got back indoors about 10 minutes later, I was quite cold, but the sun is now shining so it will be warm in the conservatory.

I did take about 40 different shots, but this appealed to me when I saw it on my computer screen - the softness of the bud, the blurriness of the branch that has been pruned and then the sharpness of the thorn.  That got me thinking about whether a “thorn” was the right term, so of course, I went to Mr. Google and he told me this:

“Although most people use the term "thorn" to describe those sharp protrusions that line most rose stems, botanists would actually call them by another name: "prickles." In botanical terms, "thorn" describes a sharp, strong protrusion that is embedded into the woody structure of a plant's stem or branches.”

So now you know - and I have learned that what I have called a “thorn” on a rose bush all my life, is actually a “prickle”.   As I often say, “Every day is a school day when you are a Blipper - or even when you aren’t!”

Eventually, the flowers on our beautiful Compassion Rose, that is now encrusted with frost, will be a gorgeous pink and once again, will remind us of our lovely friends, Pete and Angie, who gave us this when we were baptised over 20 years ago.  I am hoping that even though many plants in our garden look badly damaged by the frost, many of them will be rejuvenated eventually and bring us much joy in the Spring and Summer.

I love this version of a wonderful promise in the Bible, which I learned from the Authorised Version when I was very young and it's a good one to remember for the 400th Tiny Tuesday - long may Blip continue! 

“While the earth remaineth, 
     seedtime and harvest, 
          and cold and heat, 
and summer and winter, 
     and day and night 
          shall not cease.”
Genesis 8:22 
King James Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.