IN MEMORY OF LOVELY ESTELLE

I can’t remember when dear Raestelle started following me, but having looked back, it was almost 10 years ago - and she and I developed a lovely friendship, firstly on Blip and then via email.  

Many years ago, we would have been called “Penfriends” but that quickly became “Email friends” and we were in regular touch for several years and often exchanged gifts, and proper written notes and cards, one of which was this beautiful crystal that she sent from Western Australia and also a lovely coaster with a kangaroo on it, so I often thought of her when I saw these lovely gifts.

We shared lots of things about our family and became firm friends, such is the power of Blip and this wonderful community.  We often used to say that if ever we met, then our dear husbands wouldn’t get a word in edgeways - and as they were both long-suffering and patient men, and also both called John, we felt they could go off and do their own thing while we chatted, but sadly that never happened, although we often talked about it.  However, I did ring and speak to Estelle several times and we always had a good chat and lots of laughs when we were in touch on the telephone.

Estelle’s daughter, April, messaged me from Australia yesterday, to say that sadly, after having a stroke about 9 years ago and then suffering from dementia, her lovely Mum had died last Friday and she wanted me to know because we were so fond of one another.

Estelle, known on Blip as Raestelle, started blipping in 2012 and last blipped in 2017, but her Blips were very spasmodic from about 2014 after she had a stroke - in fact, she had six strokes and a heart attack, so life became rather difficult for her.  However, many of us will have learned so much about Australia and her life there and also much about her family, whom she loved so much.

She often talked about her husband, John and I know he was her “rock” throughout the difficult times.  She then moved closer to her daughter, which I know was a relief for April - and has been lovingly looked after by her family ever since.

Even though a loved one is very poorly, and we know they won’t ever get well again, it is still a shock when they eventually die - and I know that Estelle will be sadly missed by her husband, John, and her children and grandchildren.  This shot is the beautiful crystal she sent to me - hanging on our bedroom window with the sun shining through, just as Estelle used to do on her Blips - she always had a kind or encouraging word to say when commenting and was very much loved.

Mr. HCB and I send our love and condolences to John, April and the rest of Estelle’s family and want them to know how much she was loved by many people here on Blip.  

“To live in the hearts of those
     we love is not to die.”
Thomas Campbell

P.S.  This was one of my Blips back on 25th March 2014 - I’m so glad that Estelle became a good friend and I have such lovely memories of her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.