NEWS OF ESTELLE

There are certain times when you realise that it's not about you and your blip, but about someone very special to you. I have been in email contact with Estelle almost since I started blipping at the beginning of 2013 and from what we have shared, I know that she and her husband John are very much like Mr. HCB and me - we both love our family, our home, our garden, and the simple pleasures in life. Years ago, we would have been called "pen friends" but we today we are "email friends".

I was very concerned to hear that Estelle had suffered a stroke. I sent her a card and wished her well, and I know that many others have done the same. We do miss Estelle's blips and her interesting journal entries, and of course, she always commented so well on those she subscribed to, and I'm sure I'm not alone in saying we miss those too.

This photograph is one Estelle sent me just a few months ago of her and John, taken in April 2013, and I thought it would be good to share it on here. I keep it near to where I sit and every time I look at them both, I send a quick prayer for a full recovery for Estelle.

This morning I had an email from Estelle's daughter, April, to say that although her Mum had full use of her legs and arms and is mobile, she is unable to speak. April said "There is a long road ahead but hopefully with speech therapy and lots of love and support, she will be on the road to a great recovery."

She also said that although her Dad can turn on the computer, he is not that good (well, I daresay Estelle rather "hogged" it when she was doing her blips etc!) and although he can turn it on and access emails, he isn't able to reply but he has read them out to Estelle.

April said they are so grateful for all the beautiful words, kind thoughts and prayers sent at this difficult time for them all.

I have rung before, so decided to ring and try today and speak to John. They are about 11 hours ahead of us and when I rang, April answered, so it was lovely to be able to speak to her and to find out more about Estelle. She said that her Dad is so pleased that Estelle is now at home - he is getting lots of help and they live in a wonderful community.

I promised April that we would continue to pray for a speedy return to full health for Estelle and I am sure those of you who know Estelle are already doing that.

“I think if I've learned anything about friendship, it's to hang in,
stay connected, fight for them, and let them fight for you.
Don't walk away, don't be distracted,
don't be too busy or tired,
don't take them for granted.
Friends are part of the glue that holds life and faith together.
Powerful stuff.”
Jon Katz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.