Brynboru

By Brynboru

Netsuke Mask Maker

A couple of years ago in a church auction, I picked-up a small box of assorted junk, including this little netsuke of a mask maker. It is probably made from olive wood and has a little brass plaque on the bottom with several engraved Japanese characters.
Now that I see him in magnified detail, I realise how much dust there is on him.
The V&A were asked to comment on it, but confessed to being baffled by one of the characters; but they only saw photos and not the actual object.
As I was looking at it today, I thought perhaps I'll make further enquiries as to its origin. Also since I got this piece, I've read Edmund de Waal's "The Hare with Amber Eyes", which is ostensibly a story about a collection of netsuke objects from the 19th century.
I just wonder how it came from Japan to be in a box of junk in a church auction?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.