Borrowed, Returned and Blipped

Strava Day 238/75 Hard Phase 2 Day 26.  Eventful day but am grateful to have both focus and calm.
***
It was raining this morning here and I forgot to bring an umbrella. Also, left my keys inside but as it was still dark and everyone's asleep, I just picked up the bigger garden umbrella even if it was not in the best condition. By the time I reached the street, the rain stopped momentarily. Five second battle with decisions: Do I head back home and wait for the rain to stop or do I just ask a neighbor for an extra umbrella I could borrow.
***
Featured photo is the umbrella I borrowed (and returned within an hour) from Aling Helen. She is the caretaker of Lola Gomer's old house and has known us for decades. I have always wanted to take a photo of her in her store whenever I pass it by in the early mornings but have no idea how to do so without being intrusive. She was by the door again this morning. I asked if she has an extra umbrella and she apparently still remembers me as "Sofie" despite her age.
***
Favorite lines from today's 10 pages:

* "You must love someone without expecting anything in return; otherwise it's not truly love. You must respect someone without expecting anything in return; otherwise you don't truly respect him. You must speak honestly without expecting a pat on the back or a high-five or a gold-star next to your name; otherwise you aren't truly being honest."

*"Don't shirk responsibility or succumb to fear. Love openly and fearlessly."

*Self-improvement is not the cultivation of greater happiness but rather a cultivation of greater self respect.

***
What made me smile laugh today:
T (at dinner time): I think this is how the female species reproduce...
P: Are you talking about ants or real women?
T: The male specie touches the female specie on the lips and they exchange saliva.  (Such a relief that even if he is a fan of Big Bang Theory which is filled with sex related jokes, he seems to have no idea and no interest in learning that yet. He can't stop talking about a video game and still doodles the characters almost daily).

***
It's 8:30 in the evening here. Hope this image or the words gave you something today. Gratitude and light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.