Snow falling in the distance

I finally went for a walk in my new boots. They're nice. They'll be even nicer when they're broken in.

It was cold, just about freezing, but not unbearable because I dressed in layers. I saw this scene on my walk and had to go a bit farther to get the photo.

My uncle who lives in the same town as my mom has been sending me messages lately saying I am a terrible son because I don't call or visit my mom. The thing is, I do call her. She doesn't remember because her short-term memory is so bad. He also accuses me of downplaying her health issues, but I am not aware of health issues because no one tells me anything. I'm worried her mind might be deteriorating, but I have no idea because I am not there. Her short-term memory is awful, which is frustrating when I call her, but she still has long-term memory. She lives alone and is getting by.

My big frustration is he is anti-vaccine and won't allow her to get the vaccine. I'm trying to get a nurse to come to her house, but that's difficult from 2,000 miles (3,200 km) away. It's especially difficult when she says no after they call to set up an appointment. My uncle doesn't think she needs the vaccine, even though he's said he can help her get it. It's been available for a year. Why is he saying this now?

I'm afraid my mom's going to catch the virus and die, and my uncle will deny it was COVID, blame me, or use it as an excuse to guilt-trip me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.