flowerdancer

By flowerdancer

Cobblers.

We had a very productive morning, the car was in for annual MOT - passed without a problem as it has only done about 3000 miles in the last year - the Pandemic has really reduced my yearly mileage! While this was being carried out, we walked into town and caught up on lots of little jobs which never seem to get done.
One of the little jobs for me was a visit to the Cobbler to have these two pairs of lovely shoes re-heeled. I am trying to decide whether to hold on to them or find someone else who could wear and enjoy them. They belonged to my late Mum and I have vivid memories of the very day each pair was purchased - the red ones in October 1977 and the purple ones in July, 1986! The purple ones have never been worn but the heel tips had perished and split with age and the red ones likewise have barely been worn in all these years and the heel tips had disintegrated.
Mum saw the red ones in a shoe shop window in Edinburgh and having tried them on, agonised over whether to buy them as they were outrageously expensive for the time at £25 the pair! She hardly dare come home and say what she had done but I persuaded her to get them and headed on to visit a friend at University in St. Andrews, leaving Mum to return home alone! They were to wear to a Wedding, she had bought a lovely suit which was perfect with the shoes. The purple shoes were also bought in Edinburgh when we were shopping for shoes and bags to accessorise our outfits for my Cousin’s wedding. Mum had a lovely purple suit which like the shoes, was never worn but she saw the shoes and had to have them - I sold both suits recently in a local Vintage shop.
I inherited my great love of shoes from Mum and we spent many happy hours together in shoe shops encouraging each other to buy and I have fallen heir to her extensive shoe collection as well as my own.
My dilemma is that these days, I find high heels impossible to wear and I live in what I call “Posh Trainers” which are so much more practical and comfortable. So many of the shoes are things of beauty in themselves from the 1980’s that I am tempted to display them in a cabinet!

What do you think?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.