Miel.

By miel

Konzerthaus

This is the Berlin Concert Hall. For the Easter weekend I went to Berlin for 3 days, with 6 friends. In contrast to this picture, we went for the nightlife and not really for the city sights (we've already seen those when we were here three years ago, and Berlin is the electronic music capital of Europe, and quite possibly the world). All days we were back home around 6-7 in the morning, only to wake up at 3-4 after noon.
But what a city! Though according to the cliché, we Dutch are known for being tolerant and laid-back while Germans are said to be more formal and strict, I've never had such good a time as here. I think the word 'urban' was invented for Berlin. The city has something raw about her, something 'alternative' and free thinking. Amsterdam might be free thinking as well, but we Dutch always seem to be trying to look and act the same. I think that if you'd let loose a sociologist on this he would conclude that we have in fact a strict underlying social control and protocol in the Netherlands (actually I'm quite sure he would say so. I've read multiple times now that foreign expats who have lived here for years and are in fact 'integrated' perfectly, always detect some detachment).

Sigh, I sound like some annoying hipster now. Best to conclude with saying I hope to visit Berlin quite some times again :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.