ECFC Social Club

Today hasn't panned out quite as it was supposed to. Yesterday evening, my laptop power lead died without any real warning. Fine, I thought, we'll pop to Fort Kinnaird to one of the outposts of the Currys/PC World/Dixons empire in the morning, on the way out to somewhere nice as we had planned. I checked online and it appeared that they had plenty of what I was looking for.

Nothing has quite worked out how it should do. First off, it was grey - for the first time in days - when we opened the curtains. Even so, we still wanted to get out and about and thought that some sea air might do me (and my sore eye) good. So we headed out, and tried not one but two shops at Fort Kinnaird, but neither had what we wanted (a macbook air charger, as it happens). I asked them to check all the local shops in their particular retail empire and there were none at all to be had, not even for ready money, apart from a used one, apparently, in the Dixons Edinburgh Airport airside. Very useful indeed. So we headed to the apple reseller (unofficial) on Nicolson Street. Closed down. Then to John Lewis. Nothing. All had every other type of Apple charger, but not the one I wanted. We came home, and I phoned the Apple Store in Braehead. Yes, they did have one. So that would, of course, have meant a 120 mile round trip to buy something that surely should be available in Edinburgh. We were ready to go....

In the end, I sent a plea around my work colleagues, and several of them offered almost instantly to meet me in the office to give me one that was spare/superfluous to requirements. Lovely people. So we took up one of the kind offers, and I'm being charged as we speak. It's stupid, really, but my whole workflow depends upon being able to carry my laptop around at work.... I was preparing all sorts of contingencies based on an antiquated netbook we have at home, but it is wonderful not to have to rely upon them. Phew.

In the end, after a quick trip to Tesco (where soothing alcohol was purchased) we are back home and I can blip, but not really what I expected to blip (landscape/seascape). And, yes, I know my problems are very much 21st century problems (and first world problems), but it doesn't make them seem any more insignificant just for that. So I've just done a little order on 't'internet of the bits and pieces I've now decided I need to avoid this happening again in the future.

I've had my eye on this particular shot on Baxter Place, Leith Street for a long time. I've no real idea what the social club of Edinburgh City Football Club really offers inside, but it's so easily missed between various restaurants and clubs on the street that I thought it good to include it in my (broadly) #leithwalkshops series, which I have been neglecting recently (for the pedants around, I include Leith Street in Leith Walk). I like the hidden corners of Edinburgh, and I enjoy following the facebook page Lost Edinburgh, not because I necessarily empathise with the mournful comments which always want things never to have changed, but rather because I'm fascinated to know what went before and to imagine what might come in the future.

Anyway, sorry for the boring mixture of rant and warble. Maybe someone apart from me might find it interesting, and if they do, then fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.