Skating on the Rideau Canal

Another cold and biting day, so Mrs. Ottawacker decided to take Ottawacker Jr. out for a skate. I don't think I actually heard the words "make a man of you" - mostly because neither of us believe in that shite - but there was a certain look of admiration in my eyes as the two of them left the house in fleeces and animal pelts to brave the furies of an Ottawa winter day. I favour discretion in these matters, rather than valour, so I took my coffee upstairs to the office and, pausing only to scratch any loose hanging fruit, watched Liverpool take on Crystal Palace in my dressing gown. (I was in my dressing gown, not the Liverpool versus Crystal Palace game.) I did think of them both out there, and so had a hot shower at half-time.

In the afternoon, Ottawacker Jr. and I  skyped our friends out in Victoria and then went for a drive around the deserted (almost) city centre. Home for dinner, which (feeling a little guilty) I cooked. Pork schnitzel, baked vegetables, quinoa salad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.