The Little Christmas Tree in the Woods

It had snowed another couple of inches overnight, and so I walked up into the Scotia Barrens to admire the woods in their fresh coat of white. I chose a different path than I usually go on, and what did I stumble upon along that lesser known path but a little Christmas tree!

It was covered in lovely decorations (some handmade - see the extra photo for a better look), and snow, and it looked so adorable standing there. I don't know who made this Christmas tree. Perhaps someone hoping to delight those passing by (yes, you did, thanks!), or in honor of someone they knew who loved Christmas, who is now in Heaven.

I get the feeling the little tree has been there for a while, perhaps since before the actual Christmas holidays. That is a red stocking to the left buried in the snow. The color has faded some on the pretty Christmas balls, but surprisingly (even more so if you'd seen the winds we've had lately), every piece was still intact!

My soundtrack song is this one: Chris Isaak, with Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.