Blue and White Winter: Sky, Trees, Bales, and Snow

I snapped a few shots out the window as my husband and I drove into town to get groceries. Snow was expected in the afternoon, and we needed a few things. We often laugh to see the "French toast warnings" on Facebook: pictures of milk, bread, and eggs. But yes, we bought all of those things . . . and more, so much more.

This is a view of a favorite tree row that you have seen here on my pages quite a few times over the years. These trees stand along Sawmill Road, and I used to stop there for a few minutes on my drive to work, just to check out the sunrise, the trees, and the sky. There are bales in the background; we joke that they are frosted Mini Wheats (a cereal), all covered in snow.

I walk every day, and winter weather doesn't stop me. One of the things we've been doing lately to spice up my walks is that my husband drops me off somewhere and I walk my way home. So he dropped me off at Mahala Street, and I did just that. It's about a 3-mile walk from there.

Mahala was ice covered and treacherous in spots, and I do not recommend it. I ran into one lady coming the other way, and she asked, as we gingerly passed each other on the ice, "Do you have cleats?" (She did. I did not.) She gestured to the road above her: "It's a sheet of ice! Be careful!" And so I was. And I was fortunate not to fall. How the people who live there even DRIVE on it is beyond me!

The gamelands trails themselves were fine, though, once I got past the gates. And I did indeed have a nice walk, and made it safely home. "How were conditions on Mahala?" my husband asked, when I arrived at our front door. My reply: "Conditions were tough, BUT I'M TOUGHER!!!"  :-)

Here is a song for this picture: Tommy James and the Shondells, with Crystal Blue Persuasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.