*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Ted

Ted made me brave.

When I was scared about something, Ted came with me. Like going upstairs to bed at my aunt's big, scary house. I didn't feel frightened holding Ted's paw and squeezing it really tight. Maybe sometimes Ted was scared too, but he never said.

I hated my photo being taken at school (extra), but he came with me and he sat on my knee and we cuddled and he stopped me from crying even though I felt so uncomfortable and wanted to run away. Maybe he didn't like his photo being taken either, but he never said.

He was always brave and his bravery made me brave too.

I always remember when we were really, really scared we used to sing "I whistle a happy tune" (well, I sang and whistled for both of us because Ted didn't like to sing and whistle), and we always got up to bed without the ghosts and bogeymen daring to come anywhere near us. They knew they'd met their match with Ted.

And then when I was older, I remember sometimes things seemed terrible... people bullied me and said mean things, or I was struggling with school work, and when my grandma passed away... and even though it seemed silly at that age, I still used to hug him and he always quietly understood and didn't judge. Ted soaked up my sadness and tears.

And now we're both older and when I look at Ted now, at his well-loved, worn-out face, all I think of is that he's the epitome of love. Being there for someone, listening, not judging, being brave for someone who is scared, sticking by them and helping them through. I think humans could learn a lot from him. I aspire to be half the bear he is. Love you Ted xx
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In memory of Marlene1949 & her wonderful teddy, Rags. I think Rags and Ted would have got on really well.
Thank you for always taking the time to visit my journal; sprinkling stars, hearts and kind comments. Even when you were very poorly you always had a kind word for other people. You were a selfless and kind lady who'll be missed but not forgotten xx

Thank you to everyone who is taking part in #teddytuesday. I'm enjoying looking through all the blips. I'll try to give as many hearts out as I can :-)



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.