WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Teddy

Blipper Squatbetty came up with #teddytuesday to commemorate another Blipper - Marlene1949 and her Teddy, Rags. She died a few weeks ago.
I didn’t follow her but did see some of her Blips, by all accounts she was a lovely lady who had quite a hard life. RIP Marlene.

This is my Teddy. My Mum made him from her old coat when I was a toddler - approx 65 years ago. Obviously I don’t remember her making him but in my head I can imagine her working away, cutting out and sewing and so this poem came to mind.

25/365
Teddy

I see the scissors in her hand, cutting up her old coat
into strange shapes and only she could envisage
what they would become.
Threading up her old Singer, she would deftly join 
the pieces then, head cocked, survey her work.
She was quality controller too.
There are five down seams which shape the head,
a sixth across the top where the ears were caught in
so Teddy could hear!
Once all the pieces were sewn they were turned
right side out and stuffed - with what? Kapok?
Sheep’s wool from fields?
The limbs were sewn on with strong brown thread,
the nose and mouth stitched and two buttons for eyes
So Teddy could see!
He’s about sixty-five years old now, he’s been loved,
he’s moved house many times, he’s had new eyes
and holes in seams repaired.
He’s sat silently watching the goings on of family life
and now sits in the Grandchildren’s room waiting
to hear their chatter.
I wonder if my Mum can see him from up there.
Still here, still loved and sometimes in the arms of
her Great Grandchildren.

A grey damp day today but I spent some of this morning cleaning the living room - it gets in such a mess! It makes me feel relaxed, calm and comfortable when it’s all done.
I’ getting closer to decorating in here and looking for ideas for paint colours and curtain fabric. Either wallpaper on the chimney breast and plain curtains or paint the chimney great a different colour and look for lovely curtain fabric, I have sent for samples to add to the pile I ordered before!
I want it to look bright and light. I think it’s because of my bad eyesight. Haha! Is that another poem? :-D))

Anyway, time for a bit of strumming on the uke.
It’s Burn’s night tonight so I’ll maybe sing ‘ Ca’ the Yowes’ one of my faves.
I couldn’t get turnip at the local shop so it will be veggie haggis, tatties and carrots. We can have the leftovers with turnip tomorrow. 

:-)X









 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.