Fellwalker

Tomorrow it’s my turn to go with Sarah to the Lakes and she will be recceing the second stage of the Bob Graham Round, running south from Threlkeld along the Helvellyn ridge and down to Dunmail Raise. While she and Jess are busy doing that, I will be walking somewhere nearby. I always plan for a Lakes trip by looking at my old Wainwright guides which I bought when I lived in Cumbria about 35 years ago. There have been a lot of changes since then, but much remains the same. I just love looking at the detailed drawings and maps and sharing in Wainwright’s love of the fells.

This final page from his 6th guide (the Western Fells) says it all, really. And yes, I will watch where I am putting my feet!

Apologies for the poor quality photo, but it’s been a long day and it was dark before I even thought about blip today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.