walk this way

First of all, a big THANK YOU to everyone who left nice comments, stars and hearts for my post about the peacock yesterday. All your kindness was very much appreciated. 

Today we were blessed with another sunny and frosty day so Joanna and I took the opportunity to walk from the village down to the old railway track and along to the suspension bridge which I blipped a few weeks ago. Just over 4 miles and we stopped on the bridge for a quick drink and a taste of the Jamaican Ginger Cake I made for the first time this week. It’s vegan and gluten free and tastes just like the bought version my Mum and Dad used to buy for me because they know how much I love gingery food :-)

We met a man on the walk who was a real bird enthusiast and had a lovely conversation. On our way today we saw plenty of birds including robin, heron, wren, red kite, and goldfinches. I have noticed that they are beginning to make more noise as the day length increases.

Tonight is of course Burns Night, and although we will not be attending any Burns Suppers, we will be thinking about RB and enjoying his Immortal Memory. When Joanna and I went to Ellisland a couple of days ago, we went inside the Hermitage, where Burns once scratched lines of poetry on the window panes. On a table lay a book of his songs and poems, open at a poem which was written in the Hermitage. I’m not going to write it out in full, but I urge you to read it as it speaks words which are as relevant and inspiring today as they were 250 years ago.

Lines Written in Friars Carse Hermitage June 28th 1788

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.