the last emperor

Sadly, I found our peacock dead on the lawn this morning. He was born here over 10 years ago and has slept high up in the branches of the sycamore tree outside our bedroom window every night. Every morning and evening, D fed him with peanuts. He would peck them out of our hands, but he was still very much an undomesticated bird and definitely not in any way affectionate. We still feel very sad that he will no longer brighten our days with his wonderful colours, or display his beautiful tail feathers to anyone and everything. 

This is the closest I have ever been able to get to the amazing feathers on his back.

I thought about loss while I walked the labyrinth and it reminded me once again that instead of concentrating on what we have lost, can't do or can't have, we should appreciate every day the great riches which surround us :-)

Last blip photo of him here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.