Living my dream

By Mima

Show Off

Around this time of year I start working out what produce is going to be ready at the end of February to enter into the North Otago A&P Show.

Last year my ‘Edible garden produce in a basket’ entry won Best Exhibit in Show. Just saying…

So I was gutted to receive an email announcing that the A&P has been cancelled due to the threat of Covid. I do understand, entirely, why it’s been canned. But I’m still disappointed.

I love selecting, primping and setting up all the entries, then the drama of taking them to the Showgrounds and getting a first glimpse of the competition. And then the big reveal the next day, to see who’s won the coveted red certificates, and the rosettes. I cried last year!

Dad used to be equally enthusiastic about the local Produce Show in Galloway, and I loved helping him with the final preparations. Like father like daughter. And proud of it.

Anyway, here is today’s harvest, all of which is now in the process of being processed… soups, curries, cordials, flans and salads.

Happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.